All Opinion articles – Page 20

View all stories of the same content type.

  • Opinion

    Blog: Let’s teach the next generation

    2013-08-02T00:00:00Z

    How many of you have some cherished youngsters in your businesses? 

  • Opinion

    Blog: We all share the same dream

    2013-07-19T00:00:00Z

    Many years ago I decided to go to a Manchester National Association of Master Bakers (NAMB) branch meeting at the Hotel Piccadilly.

  • Opinion

    Blog: Postcard from the USA

    2013-05-10T00:00:00Z

    I really like to travel and I like to go walkabout, just to see what’s out there. My dad always said that you never learn anything in your own back yard and how true that is.

  • Opinion

    Smart on business succession

    2013-04-24T00:00:00Z

    You’re all going to die. Or go Ga Ga. Either way Mother Nature will get you in the end! I hope that caught your attention, it was meant to and for a very good reason.

  • Opinion

    At long last, he’s here!

    2013-03-28T00:00:00Z

    Many bakers and owners of businesses with either sons or daughters do relish the thought of their children coming into the business… maybe one day, hopefully. On 4 February this year, that day arrived for me, as Stephen Paul Smart started working with Greenhalgh’s Craft Bakery.

  • Opinion

    Blog: Profit before the nation

    2013-03-19T00:00:00Z

    Before I begin, let me apologise to the entire population of faint-hearted, economically unaware, naïve shoppers about the crippling effects that the major retailers have inflicted on us and the high street. And, these changes are so profound that they are culturally changing the way we live and eat - and it’s all by their design for maximising profit.

  • Opinion

    Blog: A great night had by all

    2013-02-06T00:00:00Z

    It is fair to say - and I am sure my own wife will loudly agree - I am not the world’s most sociable person.

  • Opinion

    Politicians should care for the big and the small

    2013-01-30T00:00:00Z

    The retail picture is bleak. To put it bluntly, 2013 has started in a torrid style - awful.

  • Opinion

    It is now the time of “the real bakers”

    2013-01-17T00:00:00Z

    May I draw your attention to a brilliant article entitled, “A tale of two breads”, by Vanessa Barford, who was writing for the BBC News Magazine recently. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-20527294 She starts her commentary taking us back 10 years to the days of the Artisan Bakers Poilane in London, who ...

  • Opinion

    Shop local, before it’s too late

    2012-12-11T00:00:00Z

    For one brief moment, let me introduce you to the Shetland Islands, a beautiful archipelago of Scotland which lies just of its north eastern shores. They are situated about 50 miles to the northeast of Orkney and approximately 170 miles southeast of the Faroe Islands. The total land mass is ...

  • Opinion

    John Reynard 17th October 1931 – 28th October 2012

    2012-11-21T00:00:00Z

    The last time I saw John was five years ago at our own 50th anniversary of being in business which was held at Bolton School in their very impressive corporate function suite. Even then, confined to a wheel chair and in poor health, he still managed to entertain his table and maintain his very warm charm and charisma which many people in the baking industry had come to know and love so well.

  • Opinion

    Spare me please from reality television

    2012-10-24T00:00:00Z

    The Great British Bake Off is only the latest offering amongst a plethora of challenging, and public orientated programmes that pit contestants against each other for the coveted title of, “whatever of the year”.

  • Opinion

    It’s all about the #soggybottoms

    2012-10-18T00:00:00Z

    Sue Perkins, co-presenter on BBC Two’s The Great British Bake Off has popularised the above phrase, which spread like wildfire as a topic of discussion on Twitter last night, during the show’s grand finale.

  • Opinion

    Let’s all celebrate the creators of worth

    2012-10-16T00:00:00Z

    In life, I think, people can be separated into two sorts. There are the spenders of worth and there are the creators of worth – or maybe I should say of value.

  • Opinion

    Corporates change via bakery

    2012-10-08T00:00:00Z

    We’re used to corporate people being, well... just that, corporate. Especially the bigger boys who have so much to lose. So it is refreshing then when a senior manager gives such an honest appraisal of their company. I am, of course, referring to the talk by Nick Tatum, the ...

  • Opinion

    Bakers’ Blog: with David Smart

    2012-09-20T00:00:00Z

    David Smart is the managing director of family company Greenhalgh’s, a position he took over from his father in 2003. He has grown the business from 23 shops to 63, and has customers among the leading supermarkets, foodservice companies and BHS. What makes a baker?

  • Opinion

    What makes a baker?

    2012-09-20T00:00:00Z

    OK it’s not a Monday morning teaser or one of those mind-melting puzzles that have no answer, just a simple question, what is a baker? What amazing powers have been bequeathed from above, or bestowed on that personage, ‘The Baker’?