Giddy-up bakers – it’s the moment that you’ve been waiting for – the 2017 Baking Industry Award finalists have been announced.

Our expert judges have travelled the country and studied dozens of entry forms over the past few months to select the finalists in nine awards categories:

Baker of the Year            

  • Brett Smith – The Welbeck Bakehouse
  • David Wright – The Cake Shop Bakery
  • Toby Milner – Milners Bakery

Bakery Innovation Award                           

  • Food Attraction
  • Adelie Foods
  • Village Bakery

Bakery Manufacturer of the Year                            

  • Bells of Lazonby
  • Bright Blue Foods
  • Macphie

Celebration Cake Business of the Year                  

  • Beachcomber Cakes
  • Elaine’s Creative Cakes
  • Terry Tang Designer Cakes

Free-from Bakery Product of the Year   

  • Addo Food Group – Gluten Free Pork Pie
  • Good Grain Bakery – Organic Gluten Free Vegan Bread                   
  • Village Bakery – Super Seeded Sandwich Thins                                    

Speciality Bread Product of the Year      

  • Cinnamon Square – Church Street Sour                                                  
  • Debaere – Mini Mozzarella, Tomato and Basil Focaccia        
  • The Flour Pot Bakery – White Sourdough                                                              

The Craft Business Award                           

  • Bachmanns
  • Reeve the Baker
  • Warrens Bakery

The Customer Focus Award                        

  • Bath Cake Company
  • Bells of Lazonby
  • Campden BRI

The Rising Star Award   

  • Georgina Watson – Country Style Foods
  • Jessica Dalton – University College Birmingham
  • Megan Roberts – Harvey Nichols/University College Birmingham

Supermarket Bakery Business of the Year

  • Asda
  • Morrisons
  • Tesco

There is no finalist list for the Outstanding Contribution to the Baking Industry category.

The Baking Industry Awards will take place at the Wild-West themed ceremony on the 6 September 2017 at Hilton, Park Lane in London where the winners will be announced from each category by our celebrity host Denise van Outen.

Tickets cost £285 plus VAT. A table of 10 costs £2,575 plus VAT. To get yours now, go to

For more information, contact Elizabeth Eliis on 01293 846593 or