Mr Kipling owner Premier Foods has been awarded for its charitable activities by food and drink charity the Institute of Grocery Distribution (IGD).

Premier Foods CEO Gavin Darby this week received the President’s Cup at the IGD awards ceremony at the Park Plaza Hotel in Westminster, London. The event was hosted by journalist and broadcaster Fiona Bruce.

Premier was recognised for its “significant” overall contribution to IGD’s various groups and charitable activities.

These included the Feeding Britain’s Future programme, which supports young people in the skills they need to find employment, and playing a major part in IGD’s Healthy Eating programme

Premier also co-chairs the Technical Leaders Forum and supports other IGD initiatives.

“Premier is a longstanding and considerable supporter of IGD’s charitable programmes, helping deliver public benefit across areas from sustainability and nutrition, as well as employability,” IGD president Andy Clarke told the awards ceremony audience.

The IGD this week announced that Clarke is to by succeeded from 1 January 2017 by Leendert den Hollander, general manager of Coca-Cola European Partners Great Britain.

Darby said Premier was “incredibly proud” to have been recognised for its contribution.

“IGD plays a very important role in fostering collaboration amongst the food and grocery industry and helping to develop people working in, or looking to join, the industry,” he added. “We’re fully committed to playing a leading role in supporting the charity’s valuable work.”

Among Premier’s plans are supporting up to 60 schools visits as part of the Feeding Britain’s Future programme and backing the pilot Jobathon programme that works in partnership with Job Centre Plus to offer skills training to the young unemployed.

The winners of the IGD Awards were selected by judges from across the food and grocery supply chain and announced at the ceremony on 18 October.

IGD Award winners
Supply Chain Collaboration Award: Molson Coors
Food-To-Go Operator of the Year: Greencore and The Co-operative
Supply Chain Innovation Award: Hubbub
Shopper Activation Excellence Award: Kerry Foods
Consumer Insight Excellence Award: Molson Coors
Outstanding Small Business Award: Kiddylicious
Business Transformation Award: Karro Food Group
Digital Engagement Award: Mondelez
Ecommerce Award: Unilever
Innovative Store of the Year Award: 24 from Compass
Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Timo Boldt from Gousto
Employee Wellbeing Award: Bel
Leading Edge Award: Kristopher Gibbon-Walsh from FareShare
Employability Award: Marshfield Bakery
John Sainsbury Learning & Development Award: The Co-operative
Sustainable Future Award: Tesco
Health & Wellness Award: MH Foods
The Grocer Cup: Steve Murrells, The Co-operative
Lifetime Achievement Award: Gillian Barker, GroceryAid
President’s Cup, Premier Foods