Scotch pie trophy by Forth bridge

Source: Scottish Bakers

Trade Association Scottish Bakers is calling on former World Scotch Pie title-holders to enter its ‘champion of champions’ competition.

The contest, which rewards excellence among professional pie-makers, butchers and bakers, has been tweaked for 2021 in response to Covid-19 restrictions. Under the new rules, previous World Scotch Pie Champions will be invited to enter their winning pies for socially distanced blind judging led by Ian Nelson, as well as Paul Long, from sponsor Bako North Western Group.

“Judging will be blind as always and an independent auditor will be on hand to oversee proceedings to ensure fairness all round,” said Alasdair Smith, Scottish Bakers chief executive.

Judging will take place on 4 May 2021 with the winner announced on 12 May 2021 subject to Covid-19 developments. 

“Restrictions in place to combat Covid meant that our annual November judging day was not possible and neither was the awards lunch in January,” Smith added. “So, we have taken the decision to run the competition, but with some changes for this year to ensure the Awards retain their place in the annual calendar.

Gordon King, executive manager of Scottish Craft Butchers, which is supporting the competition’s scotch pie evaluation, added: “In these difficult times, it is more important than ever to recognise the traditional skills and hard work that goes in to develop and produce a truly iconic Scottish product. We look forward to seeing the past champions of butchers, bakers and all pie makers, do battle to see who will be crowned the best of the best.”

The competition, which is now in its third decade, traditionally attracts entries from pie-makers, butchers and bakers in several categories including sausage rolls, Scotch pies, and apple pies.

Previous winners include two-time champion James Pirie & Son, which topped the competition in 2020 and 2018, as well as Thos Auld & Sons from Greenock, Boghall Butchers from Boghall and The Little Bakery from Dumfries, which claimed the title in 2019.