All Opinion articles – Page 19

View all stories of the same content type.

  • Blog: teachers trying yeast
    Opinion

    Blog: teachers trying yeast

    2013-12-20T00:00:00Z

    A couple of years ago a request came from nabim for a baker to give a couple of presentations for a training organisation called Grainchain.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-12-18T00:00:00Z

    In his last blog for the year, Gerhard Jenne takes a moment to reflect on the highs and lows of 2013.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-12-11T00:00:00Z

    Snow may not quite be falling all around, but in his regular blog, Gerhard Jenne discusses the importance of getting the season’s most interesting Christmas treats right.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-12-04T00:00:00Z

    In his weekly blog, Konditor & Cook’s Gerhard Jenne discusses apprenticeships in the UK.

  • Blog: Smarter PR
    Opinion

    Blog: Smarter PR

    2013-11-29T00:00:00Z

    Public relations - I would like, with your consent, to muse around this much-talked-about, almost sacred topic. It is something that no one can pin down, yet could cost a small fortune – or cost a little - depending on your take on it.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-11-27T00:00:00Z

    In his weekly blog, Konditor & Cook’s Gerhard Jenne has been tickling his seasonal tastebuds with a mince pie taste test.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-11-20T00:00:00Z

    In his new blog for British Baker, Konditor & Cook’s Gerhard Jenne discusses showstopping cakes from this year’s Cake International.

  • Blog: Ability over birth right
    Opinion

    Blog: Ability over birth right

    2013-11-15T00:00:00Z

    It seems that every country in the world has a similar saying when it comes to family businesses.

  • Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake
    Opinion

    Blog: Gerhard Jenne’s Icing on the Cake

    2013-11-13T00:00:00Z

    In a new blog for British Baker, former Blog Off writer Gerhard Jenne, and founder of Konditor & Cook, gives his view on the baking industry.

  • Opinion

    Blog: Viva Las Vegas

    2013-11-08T00:00:00Z

    You really do have to get out of your back yard to see what’s out there, and I`ve wanted to see the Vegas bakery exhibition for some time now so, this year was the year.

  • Opinion

    Can you keep a secret?

    2013-10-25T00:00:00Z

    I don’t want to startle you, or gives you a shock that sends you into a mind-melting breakdown, unable to cope, but... I have a secret that I need to share with you, so ssshhh! Nobody is listening? Are you sure? Yes? Ok here goes – Christmas Day is on the 25th of December!

  • Opinion

    Have we over-commercialised Christmas?

    2013-10-11T00:00:00Z

    A few years ago, on one very cold Sunday morning, my daughter and I promptly reported to the mince pie department to lend a hand. I wanted to show my face and let them know the boss actually does know how to put lids on the pies. 

  • The Great British Bake Off: Episode 4
    Opinion

    The Great British Bake Off: Episode 4

    2013-09-11T00:00:00Z

    It was all about beautiful rings and soggy bottoms (and one top!) in this week’s episode of The Great British Bake Off. Week four brought us pies and tarts with even more custard, and one baker was sent packing.

  • The Great British Blog Off: Week 4
    Opinion

    The Great British Blog Off: Week 4

    2013-09-11T00:00:00Z

    As we enter week four of The Great British Bake Off, our two professional bakers, Gerhard Jenne and Charlotte Green, reckon it’s time the bakers pulled their floured socks up.

  • Opinion

    Blog: Sorry boss! How to deal with staff absence

    2013-09-06T00:00:00Z

    “Sorry boss, I can`t make it in today!” How many times have you heard that dreary comment especially early in the morning and they should have been on shift, half an hour ago? Or worse still, you`ve been woken out of bed, because they have not turned up for their shift.

  • The Great British Blog Off: Week 3
    Opinion

    The Great British Blog Off: Week 3

    2013-09-04T00:00:00Z

    We’ve hit week three in The Great British Bake Off tent, and our two professional bakers, Gerhard Jenne and Charlotte Green, reckon Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood raised the ability bar a few notches higher with desserts.

  • Opinion

    Blog: salt - the devil’s in the detail

    2013-08-30T00:00:00Z

    Stop demonising our products. It’s so easy to openly criticise and demonise when you have no involvement – but when you are involved – that’s a different story.

  • The Great British Bake Off: Episode 2
    Opinion

    The Great British Bake Off: Episode 2

    2013-08-28T00:00:00Z

    Week two in the Bake Off tent saw elbows, plaits, tears, and a psychic octopus. We’ve come to expect nothing less.

  • The Great British Blog Off: Week 2
    Opinion

    The Great British Blog Off: Week 2

    2013-08-28T00:00:00Z

    Our two professional bakers, Gerhard Jenne and Charlotte Green, give you their view on the second episode from this year’s The Great British Bake Off. Did they think the bakers used their heads with different breads?

  • The Great British Bake Off: Episode 1
    Opinion

    The Great British Bake Off: Episode 1

    2013-08-21T00:00:00Z

    The nation’s favourite culinary series, The Great British Bake Off, returned last night. It brought drama, laughter and, most importantly, an array of sweet treats to savour.